On October the 12th 2021, the General Meeting of the International Bridge Tunnel & Turnpike Association – “IBTTA” – unanimously elected Messrs. B. Halkias and S. Stavris, both former Presidents of HELLASTRON, as Members of the Association’s Board of Directors. The GM took place during the Association’s 89th Annual Congress, held in Anaheim, California.

Mr. Halkias, currently serving as President of the IRF, will become 2nd Vice President in 2022 and 1st Vice President in 2023, leading to IBTTA’s Presidency in 2024. Mr. Stavris becomes a Member of the Board of Directors for 2022 – 2023. 

HELLASTRON’s network of Greek Tollroads is among the world’s top networks, regarding both the construction quality of the infrastructures and the operation and services offered to users. 

HELLASTRON international representation throughout time extends, beyond IBTTA, to TRB, the US Transportation Research Board of the National Academies of Sciences, ASECAP, the European Association of Operators of Toll Road Infrastructures and IRF, the International Road Federation; many executives of HELLASTRON’s members have served in various Technical Committees in the world’s top professional bodies and associations. Mr. B. Halkias, former HELLASTRON President, has held the Presidencies of both ASECAP and the IRF. Greece is also a permanent member of ASECAP’s Executive Committee, along with France, Italy, Spain, Portugal, and Austria; HELLASTRON former President Mr. Stavris is thus currently serving in the Committee, to be followed by HELLASTRON’s current President, Mr. K. Koutsoukos, for 2022-2023, whereas Greece will hold ASECAP’s revolving Presidency every seven years.